VW Drag Night 2018 - Dune Buggy Warehouse Pro Stock Nationals

Filter By
VW Drag Night Brought a Huge Field of Air-Cooled VW Racers for A Fully Day of Competition and $25,000 in Cash Purses.

Air-cooled VW drag racers showed that passion for racing is still very much alive as they pushed their cars and each other in a competition of speed and horsepower at VW Drag Night 2018 .

The tenth annual VW Drag Night in Orangeburg South Carolina hosted more than 100 air-cooled VW racecars competing for the biggest purses in East Coast Pro Racing Association history.

East Coast PRA President JD Curry and Drag Nights organizer Scott Sain rallied their sponsors for more than $25,000 in payouts for racers. 

People came from across the country to compete with their air-cooled cars in Pro Stock, Pro Mod, Air-Cooled Street Car Association, Super Pro, Pro and Draggin' Booties classes.  This made for a full day of racing which lasted well past midnight.

Racers were pushing their cars and each other with bragging rights and high stakes prizes in mind.

The Dune Buggy Warehouse Pro Stock Nationals featured one of the most hotly contested fields of racers at the event, with $5000 on the line for first place.  CB Performance's Pat Downs set the bar early with a 5.97 pass on his first run.  This left all the other pro stock racers gunning for him all day pushing hard to break the elusive six second mark.  

Some racers were left in the dust and some cars broke as Pro Stock competitors pushed each other hard. Damon Harmon was the only other racer to make sub six second pass as they day went on, but the run was disqualified when race officials found the car was slightly underweight.

The final Pro Stock showdown was Ollie Frey versus Pat Downs.  Downs won cutting a 5.94 pass at 113.69 miles per hour to Frey's 6.24 at 105.98 miles per hour. 


Pro Mod was also a competitive race with a $3,000 prize for first place. The field was made up of mostly turbocharged cars running low six second passes.   The field was small but power adder cars still draw a crowd.   Chris Schaffer won against Reggie Lee in the final.  Both ran in the low sevens, but Schaffer crossed the finish line first.  Lee's Ruff-n-Tuff car was the only nitrous car running at the event with a monster 3200cc Pauter engine.

One of the biggest fields for the day was the Air-Cooled Street Car Association class.  Each of these racers had to make a 30 mile drive prior to heads up racing to prove that they had a true street car.  With many cars running six second passes these cars had some serious power under the decklid.  This year's winner was Brad Robertson with a 6.46 pass at 108.99 miles per hour.  Second place went to Scott Sain who ran a 7.92 at 91.66 miles per hour.



Super Pro, Pro and Draggin' Booties were all bracket racing classes held at the event. 

Doug Stewart won Super Pro with a 6.43 at 109.78 on a 6.18 dial in.  Corbit Marshburn came in second after a red light.

Carla Holling won Pro with a 8.79 pass at 81.55 miles per hour on a 8.60 dial in.  Mel Shealy placed second with a 7.92 at 88.26 on a 7.56 dial in. 

In the all female Draggin' Booties class Michelle Miller won with a 10.43 at 81.55 miles per hour on a 9.64 dial in after Holly Smith red lighted. 

DuneBuggyWarehouse.com was proud to be part of this monumental event.  We cannot thank Scott Sain and JD Curry enough for organizing the race and promoting the event. 

A big thanks goes out to all of the air-cooled VW racers who came out to compete.  No matter the class we can't thank them enough for their passion.

Also a big thanks goes out to past East Coast PRA president Gene Collier for fostering the racing association for years. 

Thanks to Scott Sain for organizing a great event for the racers, spectators and sponsors.  Thanks to JD Curry for gathering the racers and keeping VW pro stock competition alive.  Thanks to all the fans and family who came to support the racers. 

Thanks to all of the sponsors who helped make the event great for racers and the audience with car raffles and $2500 in cash prizes for spectators.